Modifying Expectations

Modifying Expectations

ยท

2 min read

"Its all part of the plan"

Hello, welcome back to the 6th installment in this series. As I come to the end of week 6 of outreachy, I'd like to discuss the project goals I achieved and the ones that took a bit longer than expected.

It has been a busy week, as I worked on making small tweaks to 7 different designs after getting feedback. I also vectorized 5 designs for SIGS icons from which just one satisfies the needs perfectly. I am attaching samples of the other vectors that I came up with below.

Many times, a project has taken longer than the time expected. One of which was the OS Teams space icon. It was one of the first icons I started with at the beginning of the internship. However, I had to revisit it again and again as the designs weren't representing it as intended. There were times when I had to scrape off my paper full of ideas and start fresh. I remember talking about it to my mentor who supported me through the process, it was all part of the design process, and I have learned immensely from it. If I could start from scratch, I'd spend more time researching its ideals and goals rather than jumping straight to sketching designs.

Nonetheless, there were several successes too, for example, many of the designs that I proposed during my contribution period have also been accepted. This has helped me save time and focus on other difficult tasks.

While wrapping for the week - OS teams along with 6 other icons got accepted. It was one of the most acceptances I have gotten in a single week and I was really happy seeing the fruits of my labor. My advice to future applicants, is don't take the contribution period lightly and try to learn from every mistake you make to help you grow. See you again next time ๐Ÿ˜

ย